Shouldn't pine be dangerous, too?

Shady

Songster
9 Years
Feb 11, 2010
WV
With most of my rodents it's recommended NOT to use pine or cedar, due to oils that cause respiratory infections. They are called phenols... could they harm chicks, too? I was a little surprised I couldn't find any posts on this... but I am a novice. Could I use aspen instead? I already keep large amounts for my rats/mice/guinea pigs.
Here are some links about pine and cedar:
http://www.ratfanclub.org/litters.html ("Another study found that chickens kept on softwood shavings had a higher incidence of respiratory infections")
http://www.afrma.org/rminfo2.htm

From what I've heard the reason Cedar is bad is because the ammonia in the urine is amplified by the cedar. Thus causing small animals to be poisoned by ammonia. I've had small animals like you (rats, mice Guinea pigs, rabbits, dwarf hamsters, etc.) and have never had a problem with pine. My small animals were not so happy with the cedar. That was before I heard about cedar being bad for small animals. Then I switched to pine and have used it for all my small animals for about 13 years.

I don't think my post was very clear
hmm.png
. What I was asking was: "What are your thoughts on pine?" and "Do you think Aspen is better?".

Pine is a bad choice for birds of any type. Many people are not aware of the toxicity of pine and cedar on animals because much of the research is limited to scientific reports that usually only well studied vets and similar are privy to.