sick chicken

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by patti17340, Feb 1, 2014.

1. patti17340

patti17340 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2013
    Littlestown, Pa
    I have 3 chicken I have had them for 3 years no problems what so ever. About 3 days ago I noticed that one on them seemed to be walking funny. In this squat like waddle. When I let her out of the coop she would just sit not running around or looking for bugs like she usually does. Also she is my hard to catch chicken. I was able to walk right up on her and pick her up. I checked her vent to see if she possibly had an egg stuck as I have been getting extermely big eggs even now and than.. I saw nothing and feel nothing.. She is eatting very little.. today she did eat some corn and peas I had left over from dinner last night. I have brought her into the house at night because one of the other hens will just come up and peck her when she is sitting.
    Any advise.. this is my first time dealing with a sick chicken. Thanks Patti

2. Dee Dee 2

Dee Dee 2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2012
    Tomball, Tx.
    I hope by now you chicken is better. I wish I could give you a good "guess" as to her problem but I can not. I am discovering there are SO many diseases and problems that can affect and afflect chickens. All I can suggest is start with the basics. Have they been wormed ? Not just for round worms with Wasine but also for other parasites using liquid ivermectin. Vitimans in the drinking water ? Apple Cider vinigar (the kind with the 'Mother' I am told) can work wonders. Any way sure hope you can find out what is wrong. Mites ? maybe ?

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio