Sick hen developed sour crop Please help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by LuLutoo, Jun 12, 2011.

1. LuLutoo

LuLutoo New Egg

Jun 12, 2011
    I am desperately trying to help my Frannie. I don't know what has caused her illness and need help diagnosing. I am relatively new to chickens.

Frannie is a 16 week old barred Cochin bantom. I don'y know ow much she weighs, but she has really lost weight and muscle.
    She is fed organic laying pellets, fresh water and they all free range the yard. They also get fruit and veggie scraps from the kitchen.

Three days ago my hubby saw her hanging out by herself but thought nothing of it

Two days ago I found her listless, alone and fluffed. Her crop was TOTALLY empty. Her comb was nice and red, her eyes bright, no discharge from her nose. I took her to the water and she drank some. She would not eat. I force fed her a few kernels of canned corn, hoping the energy would get her eating again. Her poop was green and white, but not much of it. No lice or mites that I could see. It is HOT here, but they hang out under the bushes and stay cool.

Yesterday she looked a bit better. She was still drinking and tried to follow her friends around. She still was not eating. I mixed up some "Sick chicken food" (found on another site) and force fed her a bit.