sick millie flure

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by addicted2chics, Oct 14, 2013.

1. addicted2chics

addicted2chics Out Of The Brooder

Jul 3, 2013
    I posted a picture of this bird to find out what kind it was. Everybody that posted said the bird looked sick. They advised me to post in this forum for advice. She is eating and drinking fine. I have added sav a chick probiotic and electrolites to her water just in case.

[​IMG]

Any advice?

2. granny hatchet

granny hatchet Tastes like chicken Premium Member

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana
    well, she does look sick. is her eye swelled shut? and have you noticed any really small bugs on her? mites.

3. addicted2chics

Jul 3, 2013
    No, her eyes are open fine, seem to be watery. I havent looked for mites but we found one with mites a few days ago. My wife treated all chickens, coops ans surrounding areas yesterday. The hen in the picture we just goy Saturday.

I am new to chickens and probably sound silly but what are symptoms of mites. The only reason i found the mites this time, I was moving chickens to new coop and noticed white bugs crawling on him. Not even sure it is mites, just figured it was.

4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Do you know what the white powdery material around her eye is in the picture? Favus , a fungal infection, sometimes looks like that. Lotrimin or miconozole is the treatment. The eye is swollen, but have you noticed any bubbles in the eye, nasal or eye drainage, sneezing or other symptoms of a respiratory disease? Mycoplasma and other diseases can look like this. Here are some links toi click on for info: http://www.thepoultrysite.com/diseaseinfo/59/favus

https://www.google.com/search?q=fav...YJOKYyAHVkYGwCQ&ved=0CEMQsAQ&biw=1366&bih=655

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044

Last edited: Oct 14, 2013
  5. granny hatchet

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana
    i would keep her isolated if its not to late