sick pullet - advice?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ChickengirlK, Aug 8, 2013.

1. ChickengirlK

ChickengirlK Out Of The Brooder

Jul 18, 2013
    Maryland
    I am new to chickens. Just got my girls last weekend! I have two 23 week olds and five 6 wk olds. Today my little 6 week old Easter Egger wouldn't move, just sat there and slept. I kept an eye on her, but after a few hours of her not moving I decided she was sick and put her in a dog carrier to separate her from the others. I have her in my garage Vs out at the coop. Her back is a bit bare. She's very lethargic. I was able to hold some crumble up to her and she pecked it a couple times. Later she ate on her own a little, but she isn't drinking. I tried to give her some water but she won't drink. My Tractor supply had no medicines for chickens! I'm afraid she's not going to make it. All the others seem fine, but so did she yesterday! I do think she was at the bottom of the pecking order, but the other little ones were always nice to her.
    In addition to this I've found bloody wood shavings in the coop yesterday and today. It just looks bloody, real red, no poop, etc... I have one laying, and I think it's her. She seems fine otherwise.
    Oh goodness, I'm STRESSED! I don't have a clue what to do. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'd be grateful for any advice, thanks so much!

2. mrscbass

mrscbass Out Of The Brooder

Aug 8, 2013
    Utah
    This exact thing happened to my hen today. She died early this morning- not exactly sure what was the cause. She was perfectly healthy last night and she was dead by 10:30 this morning. Some people suggested giving the rest of my flock Cordin (a type of medication) just in case. Good luck and hope she fairs better than mine!

3. ChickengirlK

Jul 18, 2013
    Maryland