Sick pullet with strange cyst above vent (picture)

nessili

In the Brooder
5 Years
Oct 4, 2014
King George, VA
We've only had chickens since the middle of June, so I'm still very new at this.

Today one of my 17 week old Speckled Sussex hens (Queen Elizabeth I) began acting strangely. She didn't run to join the others when I threw out their evening scratch. When she did eventually join them, she pecked half-heartedly, then settled down in a heap as if very tired. This scared me because we just lost another hen two weeks ago (an adult bantam Cochin), and she'd done the same thing--not moving much and just sleeping all the time. I immediately isolated the Sussex, gave her a warm box with as much food as she wanted (the Cochin died after losing too much weight and then stopped eating--by the time we noticed, it was too late). Elizabeth, on the other hand, wolfed down everything I put in front of her, and still had plenty of energy to protest being kept away from the rest of the flock. That made me feel a little better.

Once isolated, I could tell which droppings were hers, and it's diarrhea. The first was a plain yellowish, the second a clear, almost mucus-y, and the last greenish and white (but much more of it--don't know if that's because she finally had food in her system or what). I also saw that she had a strange lump in her vent area. Because our Sussexes _hate_ being picked up and handled (they will protest most vociferously and struggle to get free), no one had noticed it before.

She hasn't started laying yet, but may start soon: I wasn't sure if something had happened while trying to lay her first egg. So I brought her inside and had her sit in a warm Epsom salt bath for about 15-20 minutes. While blow-drying her feathers (before returning her outside to her little private room), I was able to get a better look at the lump/cyst/tumor