Silkie Bantams?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rkitlee, Dec 11, 2010.

1. rkitlee

rkitlee New Egg

Dec 11, 2010
    Hey, so i just convinced my mom to get me some chickens![​IMG] Originally i was gonna get a dog, but we were short on money. So instead i ordered some silkies. I wanted bantams because they are small and look cool. However i have no chicken experience whatsoever. I do not intend to breed chickens, i just want them as pets. I want to know how to take care of these chickens, what i need to take care of them. i want them to be around for a while. sorry if there is a thread about this somewhere.

Last edited: Dec 11, 2010
  2. Joey8765

Joey8765 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2010
    Australia
    i just bought a silkie bantam and she is an amazing pet, i named her pearl because she is white. [​IMG] they are really loving, unlike other chickens, but they do get picked on by other chickens

okay well you obviously need food and water, you can buy them at the local grain store / feed store and you need a coop as well so get one of them and then you can put wood shavings or hay in their nest and you also need roosts (poles that they sleep on)
    hope that helped
    im pretty new to all this stuff to!

joseph

3. ThePolishPrincess

ThePolishPrincess Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:[​IMG]

There's a search button near the top of the index. I find sometimes it's difficult to get the answers your looking for, in which case you can certainly make a thread about specific items of interest in the correct sections of the forum. [​IMG] It would take me all through the night just to post how to care and manage chickens. But independently, you'll find what your looking for as a general. The rest comes with learning and your own experience.