Silkies - new to it all. Confused on getting colors.

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by jjaazzy, Mar 16, 2013.

1. jjaazzy

jjaazzy Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2013
    Davie, Fl
    I am very new to chickens and chose Silkies as my first breed. I want to get into breeding these beautiful birds and have 5 chicks from show quality stock to start out with. I have a blue, a buff, some strange color the breeder said he has never seen before and 2 partridge, one of them is more yellowie if that is a word. So If I want to breed them later will I need to get mates for them that are the same color so they produce that color? Or, will the hens produce a range of colors on her own. I would like to get some white, splash and spotted later, but will I need to purchase those birds in pairs? My guys are too little yet to figure out what I have roos or hens. Anyway any advice is welcomed....

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    I'm not an expert on breeding, but I do know you will need to get mates to produce more of the same color. Actually the Blue is a mix of black and white genetics, I believe. You may want to find out what color parents the "strange color" silkie has.

Here is a link to a thread with more info: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/155273/silkie-color-genetics

3. jjaazzy

Mar 2, 2013
    Davie, Fl