Silver Appleyard Bantams - PICS

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ~*Sweet Cheeks*~, Jul 27, 2010.

1. ~*Sweet Cheeks*~

~*Sweet Cheeks*~ Songster

Mar 12, 2009
    Medford, Oregon
    I'm new to ducks as of last weekend. Put in a 12' x 12' covered pen, kiddy pool, duck house that was brooder built on pallet.

Last weekend I picked up three 5 wk old muscovy and today after work, I picked up three bantam silver appleyard ducklings 3 wks old. She threw in the two call ducklings for $4 extra.

Craigslist ad: http://seattle.craigslist.org/oly/grd/1864677550.html

The
    gal said it's too soon to tell the sex. What do you all think?

More pics 5 minutes after putting in pen. They started running around chasing flies. They are much friendlier than the muscovies that are hiding behind that platform leaning up against the fence so they can hide from the dogs stalking the fence. All of the ducklings were hen raised.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners 8 Years

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    [​IMG]

3. BC_Farms

BC_Farms Songster

Jan 20, 2010
    Enfield & Chaplin CT
    [​IMG]

I think they're the cutest thing I've seen all day!

4. CityChicker

CityChicker Songster

Mar 21, 2009
    You will *love* the Mini Appleyards. They are far and away my favorite ducks. I have raised them for several years now. Mine are always my friendliest ducklings. My only other breed that compares as far as friendliness is my Mini Overbergs and they were developed in part from the Mini Appleyards. Anyway, you will love them! They are very, very calm and quiet. Mine will literally climb in your lap. I also think they are one of the prettiest ducks I have.

Good luck with yours! [​IMG]

5. javajanie

javajanie Songster

May 10, 2010
    Southern MD
    So pretty! [​IMG] I love duckies!

6. ~*Sweet Cheeks*~

Mar 12, 2009
    Medford, Oregon
    Thank you all -