Sneezing meat chickens

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by deb1960, Jun 28, 2010.

1. deb1960

deb1960 New Egg

Jun 28, 2010
    Good day,
    I am very new at raising meat chickens. This is my second year. I have 24 meat chickens. I noticed yesterday that some of them are sneezing and making an unusual noise. I clean the coop every two days. I also have 26 baby chicks in the same coop (which are caged separately). The coop is 8 x 12. I allow my birds to free range during the day and at night I put them away for fear of coyotes. What am I doing wrong? I did not have this problem last year.
    I am also worried for my other chickens on the property. I have 37 laying hens and a few decorative chickens, 10 to be exact. I just love these animals. Excuse the pun but great chicken soup for the soul. Everyone should own a chicken or two. They are marvelous to have and very funny to watch. Even the meat chickens who are not pretty have character. If anyone can help me, please, I would really appreciate it. Thank you in advance for your help.

1 husband, 1 eight year old daughter, 37 hens, 13 rabbits, 1 pony, a pigmy goat , a big german sheppard rescued), a chihuahua(rescued), 10 decorative hens, another hen(which I think is a rooster) and a bunch of kittens that were dropped off during the night...[​IMG][​IMG]

2. eKo_birdies

eKo_birdies Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2010
    Northern Colorado
    unfortunately i can't give you any useful information, as i have not experienced any illness personally (*knock on wood*) w/in my flock. i am sure there is someone much more experienced on here who will be able to help. if not, maybe try doing a search or posting in the emergencies/diseases section.

also.. [​IMG]

3. blueskylen

blueskylen Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2008
    WV