Somewhat new

gbc021016

Hatching
Feb 16, 2016
I have been helping my grandfather raise our girls for about 4 years now. About September of last year, however, one of our hens got broodie and she adopted a clutch of random eggs from the other girls. Only seven hatched, but out of the seven two made it to grow their first feathers. Then we lost one of the two, a pullet, to a hawk and the other, a rowdy rooster, passed as well. Now one of our Welsumers has laid a clutch of 18. I took them in as my first set in a LG 9300 incubator. All were fertile. But we've already lost 6 due to weeping. Problem is that the eggs are a dark tan and dark brown speckled, therefore, proving difficult to candle. Please give me any advice you can.

Hi and welcome to BYC. Sorry, i have never used an incubator before and nor do i candle eggs that i set under my broody. I'm sure someone will be along to help soon. There are many threads on incubators (use the search box under the backyard chickens logo), and the Learning Centre should also have some good reference materials for you to look at.

All the best
CT

Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! Did you collect and store the eggs prior to setting them in your incubator or did you just leave them in the nest and collect all in one go? How old were the eggs before you set them? With having 6 that have been weeping I would say it's a bacteria or shel quality problem. If the eggs were older than week before setting they won't have been at their freshest.

Wishing you the very best of luck with the rest of your eggs :fl

Enjoy BYC :frow

welcome-byc.gif

I've never incubated eggs but Yorkshire coop is a pro at it and she has mentioned some good points.

Good luck with future hatches!

Well. Welcome to BYC.... Or sorta welcome for
lau.gif
sorta new!