Sour crop

Dolly0087

Hatching
Apr 22, 2022
😥. Here we go again. Sour crop. Five of six died. I have another nine, one has soup crop. I feel like I killed trying everything to help them. I searched YouTube and nothing made them overcome. 🙁 please not again.

Can you tell me what you did successfully?
Please no opinions. Only those whom have made them well. Please.

Im surmising that a change in diet is the problem. Im not an expert , (Im only surmising.) We were advised by the tractor supply associate and fed ten girls eight cups of feed. Im thinking she ate so much that it impacted the crop and now cant flow through the digestive system. We were feeding three cups along with kitchen scraps, fodder, grass clippings, alfalfa and bugs. Before I upped the amount I occasionally checked their crops just to be sure they were getting enough food simply because we did not want left overs for rats. All was well before overfeeding them.

😥. Here we go again. Sour crop. Five of six died. I have another nine, one has soup crop. I feel like I killed trying everything to help them. I searched YouTube and nothing made them overcome. 🙁 please not again.

Im surmising that a change in diet is the problem. Im not an expert , (Im only surmising.) We were advised by the tractor supply associate and fed ten girls eight cups of feed. Im thinking she ate so much that it impacted the crop and now cant flow through the digestive system. We were feeding three cups along with kitchen scraps, fodder, grass clippings, alfalfa and bugs. Before I upped the amount I occasionally checked their crops just to be sure they were getting enough food simply because we did not want left overs for rats. All was well before overfeeding them.
You can safely feed free choice. Actually, your supposed to. Eating feed alone isn't going to impact the crop.