Splash Marans vs Mutt look alike?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by VioletBlueIvy, Jun 16, 2010.

1. VioletBlueIvy

VioletBlueIvy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2010
    I had an earlier post trying to find out what my new hens are. This one, Gritch I still dont have an answer for. Someone mentioned she could be splash in color. So I followed up and this is what I found;
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    A picture of splash Marans from feathersite
    [​IMG]

They look the same to me, but I am a complete novice, and many of the different breeds if they share a color, look the same to me. How do you tell between a mutt look alike and a purebred bird?

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    I know what you mean. There's alots of things to consider along with color. I would look at the comb and waddles (or is it wattles), and also the color of the legs. And of course size and body mass.....even things right down to eye color. I've noticed some of my chickens have big eyes, and others have small eyes too.

She does look like a splash Marans.....maybe she'll lay a nice dark egg for you.....[​IMG]

3. VioletBlueIvy

VioletBlueIvy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2010
    That would be great! I have an 8 week old or so Marans rooster. I would love a hen, but it just doesn't seem possible that I could have accidentally bought something I have been looking for and unable to find. [​IMG]

4. chicmom

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Maybe lady luck was on your side that day! I sure hope so! [​IMG]

5. chicmom

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    OH, I wanted to tell you that, the Meyer Hatchery in Polk Ohio sells splash marans, and they sell hatching eggs too if you've got an incy.....

6. pinkchick

pinkchick "Ain't nuttin' like having da' blues"

May 30, 2008
    Washington State
    How old is this girl? Is she laying yet?

7. americana-chick

americana-chick Chillin' With My Peeps