square footage questions

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by 1987MJ, Jun 12, 2011.

1. 1987MJ

1987MJ Out Of The Brooder

Jun 12, 2011
    I'm pretty new to this and have couple questions regarding my coop/run size.

We have 11 total chickens...7 of which will most likely not get much larger than say medium sized and 4 that are on the high side of medium.

We just got the other 4 today...and two of our others are roosters so chances are one of them will go away leaving us with 10 total birds.

THe 'house' has 19 square feet of floor space and it is always open to the run which is 48 square feet.

From what little reading I've done I see where you need anywhere from 4-8 square feet per bird. I want them to be comfortable and plan to add on to the side of the current run and make the run total 80 square feet and of course the house will remain at 19.

Does this sound right? So about 99 square feet total for 10 birds.

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

Well...it'll depend on who you ask. Most on BYC go with 4 sq. ft of housing space and 10 sq. ft. of run space per bird as minimums. Of course folks in areas that don't get winters can get by with less indoor space, but ideally they'd have more outdoor space to make up for it. And of course folks who freerange their birds for a few hours daily can get by with less run space...
    A lot depends on how mild mannered your birds are and your personal view on how "natural" vs. commercial you want to keep chickens.

3. Judy

Judy Chicken Obsessed Staff Member Premium Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    It also depends where you are. They need a lot more coop space if they will stay in the coop a lot, as many do with a lot of snow on the ground. Where I live, 2 sf is probably enough if they have a good shady breezy run where they will spend most of their time.

4. 1987MJ

Jun 12, 2011