1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

start with chicks or hens?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by gcanchicks, Feb 25, 2014.

1. Hi! I am totally new to this. I have just convinced my hubby that we should have chickens, with the idea that we would be starting with ready-to-lay hens. Now I am thinking that starting with chicks might be the better way to go. I have two children, 8 & 3. I also am a dance instructor and am fairly busy. Am I crazy to try to deal with babies that are going to need my attention? Or, are babies going to be better in the long run when I have small children? Our local feed store does "chick days" very soon. What are some things to look for and ask when picking chicks? I really don't want any roosters (although I understand that is a risk you take with chicks). I have read about brooders on BYC. I'm pretty sure I have that part figured out, if we end up with chicks. I would appreciate any and all advise! I live in southern MO (not far from the Arkansas border). I would love to find some "locals" who can answer some questions :)
    Thank you!
    Carrie

2. red horse ranch

red horse ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2014
    Buffalo Wyoming
    Since I'm from Wyoming I'm not a local for you but I'll try to answer some of your questions. A lot of the feed stores will have 'straight run' chicks which will be male and female. These are the cheapest but you may end up with roosters. Most will also have females that are sexed at the hatchery. These cost a little more but are most likely to actually be females.