Starting a new flock!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lark60, May 26, 2019.

1. Lark60

Lark60 In the Brooder

May 26, 2019
    Hello, I am new to raising chickens and have my first eggs in the incubator. My sister has a flock and gave me 9 fertile eggs (that's the max my incubator can hold for chicken eggs). I candled them at her house and found one was cracked so she swapped it out with another one. I am so excited! There are 3 brown eggs, 3 pink eggs and 3 green eggs. The rooster is a Barred rock and the hens are either Araucana, barred rock or a sexed link that I can't remember what she called the hen. I candled the eggs on day 7 and had to remove 2 eggs. One quit growing early and the other had a blood ring. There was movement in 6 eggs and one of the green eggs was hard to see through. Half of the egg is dark and the other half I can see light when I hold the egg on the light at just the right angle. The eggs are loosing weight at 16% so I will check them again on day 14. I tweek the humidity twice a day to keep it around 45-55% and the temp is steady at 37.9. I just built the brooder and am in the process of adapting my shed to be a coop.

As for me, I am a retired physician, live alone in Arizona, have raised many different anamals and this will be my first time raising chickens. My plan is to raise dual purpose chickens. I live within the city limits so I can have 8 hens but no roosters.

2. AmyJane725

AmyJane725 Songster

Feb 22, 2019
    Western WA
    Welcome to chicken keeping (and BYC)! You're gonna love it. :D

If you have any questions feel free to let the good folks here know. They're a wealth of knowledge just waiting to be tapped.

3. BlueBaby

BlueBaby Enabler

4. 007Sean

007Sean Pheasant Whisperer

Oct 25, 2015
    South Central Texas
    Howdy :frow and Welcome to Backyard Chickens.

Happy :ya to have you here with us. Enjoy your time here at BYC!

Thanks for joining our community! :celebrate

5. Pork Pie