State Fair Poultry Competition

R3M1X

Chirping
May 14, 2019
Norlina, NC
I am new to the idea of showing chickens, but am curious if I would like to pursue that path with some of my chickens. I wanted to test the waters of this area of poultry ownership by placing some of the birds I have bred in my state fair since the entry fee is 3$. It doesn't seem like a major loss if it doesn't work out.
I did not read it in the guideline and competition rules, but do I need to be a member of the APA to show chickens? On the website it only says I have to be a North Carolina resident which I am.
Also, what is the minimum age for a fowl to be entered? They have options for pullets and cockerels and ownership of the bird entered must be 60 days prior to competition. I have a little one I hatched in March that will be about 18 weeks when the competition starts and I just wonder if she could also enter?
I also saw that on the entry form you can put in ID numbers and whatnot for the sire, dam, and offspring. Do chickens have to have breeding and show papers similar to dogs? Or am I just thinking about this too much?
The website does say judging will be based off of the APA guidelines but other than that it doesn't seem to be a strict event as long as you properly enter a breed listed on their forms.

I tried to get the photos of the two birds I feel are my best bred. Advice on them would also be nice. I tried reading the SOP's on them but outside eyes can be more experienced.
Phil:
20190801_182628.jpg

Lil:
20190806_082404.jpg

20190806_082403.jpg

I did not read it in the guideline and competition rules, but do I need to be a member of the APA to show chickens?
No, you do not need to be in the APA to show chickens.