Still consider myself a newbie!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by planetpal1, Oct 1, 2013.

1. planetpal1

planetpal1 New Egg

Oct 1, 2013
    Hi all! I got 12 chickens about 3 1/2 months ago. We lost one to a digestive tract defect, but otherwise the rest are going strong. I have a daughter with Leukemia and her chemo has made her allergic to many things, including eggs. I got chickens to experiment with their feed to see if I can get eggs that she won't be allergic to. I'm a pastry chef, and there is NO substitute in cooking/baking for real eggs. Once my girls start laying eggs, I'll have the eggs nutritionally analyzed, and I'll be sure to post the results here. We have 1 white leghorn, 1 Arucana, 3 Amerucanas, 2 plymoth barred rocks, 1 rhode island red, 1 production or red sussex (not sure yet), and 2 buff Orphingtons. We have coyote and racoon issues in my town (just outside San Diego, CA) and one coyote just got my daughter's house rabbit that we let run around outside during the day. :( so sad. I'll post pics of the chicken coop soon, it's pretty dandy. Looking forward to lots of info here. Thanks for the opportunity to learn more.

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Happy you joined us! :D

3. MsChickenMomma

MsChickenMomma Overrun With Chickens

Dec 2, 2012
    Michigan
    :welcome Glad to have you join us! Im so sorry about your daughter and her bunny. I really hope you can find some way to produce eggs that your daughter isn't allergic to. It sounds like you have a very nice variety of chickens as well. :)

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG] some people on BYC that are allergic to chicken eggs have found they don't have that problem with duck eggs. Maybe that is worth investigating.

5. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011