Stupid newbie question

Chickens? WOW

Chirping
12 Years
Mar 21, 2010
Western Montana
Okay this is sorta a stupid question but can you put chickens on cat litter instead of shavings? This is my first time and I am trying to find the best way of doing things. Also does anyone do the deep litter system? Does it work?

Food grade Diatomacious Earth (spelling) is okay for the deep litter method. I don't think cal litter is a good idea because of the amount of dust it produces- I'd think it would be hard on their respiratory system.

Just posting to say 'HI!'
frow.gif
because I must have missed you when you introduced yourself. Someone will be arriving shortly to answer your questions..please stay on the line... beep.

seriously, there are a LOTTA threads on the deep litter method. try doing a search in the upper right of this screen.
Cat litter...don't know.

I use the Deep Litter Method....and love it!!! I have a flock of 20 in a 10x10 run with a coop about 4' deep in, 10' across and 6" tall....I use shavings only...and DE.....I clean it out about once a month I sift it from dry poop and sprinkle more DE....daily I turn it over....and about every 6mos....I take most of it out (shavings)...and I leave alittle in, so to not get rid of the good bacteria thats grown in there and control it better. I love it!!!!

36033_dsc_0762.jpg

36033_nest_box_with_roosting.jpg

before litter, I stack litter about 8" deep

36033_lil.jpg

Besides the dust concern, most cat litters have some sort of scent. Chickens have pretty delicate respiratory systems and strong scents (or the chemicals those scents are made from) can make them sick. Also, don't use cedar shavings, make sure it is Pine shavings, Cedar has a chemical in it that can kill chicks.