Suddenly aggressive

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mammahen777, Dec 21, 2013.

1. mammahen777

mammahen777 New Egg

Dec 21, 2013
    Tennessee
    Ok so I'm new to the chicken keeping but I've had my babies since birth they are excited to see me when I go to the coop. Well one hen I particularly like, pollo, has suddenly started acting aggressively towards me. This is not normal for her, she is usually very sweet and gentle but today, she decided to bite my ear my leg my side, my leg has two nice little holes in it she somehow managed through my JEANS. None of my hens have started laying yet they are just going on five months now I have two roosters.. Who have taught her to crow and she has started dancing around the other hens. I've tried "pecking" back but that only seems to get her more riled! She's out for blood and I'm nervous she's going to hurt someone is they come over... Please help me!!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Sounds like she has morphed into a rooster. Sometimes hens crow especially if there isn't a rooster around. But I have never heard of a hen doing the side dance. Young cockerels often get people aggressive when their hormones are raging. This mean one needs to go to freezer camp .Be careful of puncture wounds - are you current on your tetanus shots?

1 person likes this.
  3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC & Happy Holidays!
    [​IMG]

4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC - sure sounds like you have another rooster.

5. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Hi and welcome to BYC from northern Michigan [​IMG]