1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Take me through the steps of incubating and hatching?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by maggienchamp, Dec 5, 2011.

1. maggienchamp

maggienchamp Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2011
    Hi everyone! This spring I am going to be hatching some eggs for the very first time! Yay! I'm very excited but also a little nervous as I've never done this before and honestly, I know nothing about it. I have decided that the first set of eggs is going to be Button Quail [​IMG] If all goes well, I am also going to be hatching some Silkies and Frizzles.

My plan was to purchase the eggs from eBay, not sure if this is a good idea or not...any good or bad experiences with hatching eggs from eBay? If your against it, do you have any recommendations as to where I should get the eggs? Oh, also, how many eggs do you suggest getting? My hope was to get at least a pair of Button quail, but no more than 5. For the Silkies/Frizzle, no more than 4 would be ideal [​IMG] I know you obviously can't choose how many hatch, just an approximate number of eggs to get would be helpful!

Anyway, I was hoping I could get some advice on the process of incubation. Like, from the time I recieve the eggs to the time they hatch (hopefully!). So, things like, how long to 'set' the eggs (and how to do this), what temperature and humidity to keep the incubator at and at what times, how to check if the chick is growing correctly (candling?), the actual hatching (scary!), and any other helpful newbie tips!

Oh, and this is the incubator I will be buying http://www.strombergschickens.com/product/Mini-Economy-Incubator-10-Egg/brinsea-incubator-sale if that helps at all [​IMG]

Thanks for any info or advice! I really appreciate it [​IMG]

2. cmom