Temperature controller for DIY Incubator

hnorth

In the Brooder
Oct 19, 2023
Hello Everyone.

XH W3002 Digital Temperature Controller​

I just bought this handy little TC off Ebay for $8. They offer an DC version as well. It's super easy to program and use for my DIY incubator project.

If you are using standard household AC outlet, be sure to select AC110 model. Also, I looked to make sure that it was being sent from within my country (USA) and not China (to avoid long delays).

Here's an easy tutorial on setting it up:

Last edited:
Nice find. I have used a similar one (w1209) that comes as a bare PCB. The one you’re using is probably a bit safer than the one I used. With the bare PCB there is some risk in touching line voltage.

Have you successfully hatched eggs using this one or are you still in the building process?

I am just starting out with this egg hatching stuff. I've kept chickens on and off for years. I mostly raised feedstore chicks: RIReds Barred Rocks, etc. This time, I started to to get interested in hatching eggs and looked at incubators. Building my own seemed fairly straightforward.

I read here a fair bit. Then looked at the various Styrofoam/lightbulb builds. I found a upper hot water heater thermostat and a Styrofoam cooler at a local hardware store. I wasn't satisfied with the temp swings it was giving me.

Then I saw these TC's on some incubator build vids and found them on the Bay. I wired it up and programed it for 37.5C.
I ended up with a modified cooler Bator type DIY build. The cooler was $24 at walmart. I used a holesaw to cut the holes for the light fixtures.
48 qt Igloo cooler $24
TC controller $8
light sockets and 2-40 w bulbs $10
Total $42.

We will see if it works over the next 3 weeks.

Last edited:
Good luck. Your story sounds similar to mine. I almost used a cooler because it seemed to be the popular choice. Then I decided that I wanted a mini fridge but didn’t want to pay for a new one.