Terrified Guinea Keets!

DuckyLou

In the Brooder
7 Years
Mar 29, 2012
East Texas
I got 6 Keets last week that are 6 weeks old. They are so extremely scared to death of me! I was hoping that they would calm down but they have not! This is my first time to own guineas, is this normal? What can I do to tame these little boogers?? They scratched the mess out of me when I tried to hold them! I'm now regretting that I did not buy day old Keets :(. Any advice?

Duckylou, hmm what to tell you.
Yes they are terrified of you, so would they if you got day olds. Will they calm down, not much. Is this normal, yep. WHat can you do to tame them, nothing.

Advice. Love them for what they are. Actually, they need alot of work to really tame them. OUrs know we are the treat person and come running to get treats, but they do not like to be handled. We can walk around them, just not hold them.

They need at least 6 weeks of confinement, before you start to let them out to free range if you want them out. Try to teach them a sound, that means treat. Millet is a big favorite of theirs, as is bread. We only give them millet in the house, to try to teach them to come in.

Hope this helps you some, I have no doubt there are many others on this thread that can give you more info.

Guineas are challenging, and frustrating birds, but they are also funny, and great bug hunters. The first year they are extreamly nosiey, the second year I can tell a huge difference in the nosie level.

Enjoy them, but give them lots of time to adjust.

I got 6 Keets last week that are 6 weeks old. They are so extremely scared to death of me! I was hoping that they would calm down but they have not! This is my first time to own guineas, is this normal? What can I do to tame these little boogers?? They scratched the mess out of me when I tried to hold them! I'm now regretting that I did not buy day old Keets
sad.png
. Any advice?

Hi DuckyLou,