The best way to add to your flock?

Jencleg

Songster
8 Years
May 5, 2011
Jasper
I have my 4 chickens @ home....I love them, but I do not have the breed I really wanted. Is it possible to ever add to my collection now? How would be the best way to do this?? Can I ever in the future? Mine are 4/5 months old now.....I really wanted a buff orphington
hit.gif

I'm a newbie, but my father-in-law has taught me many things. One is that you can certainly add new chickens, but be prepared for a little pecking order madness. Give them time to be near one another in separate housing before putting them together. Especially if the newbies are younger than the others. Also, it helps if there's a decent amount of room for them to roam around in once they're brought together. This gives the newbies more places to escape to if there is trouble.

Eventually, they'll get over it all and will get along for the most part.

Heck, I plan to add to mine every year. At some point you have to, as your hens age (unless you're really not in it for the eggs or you have facilities for multiple coops). You just plan to take some time to let them get to know each other and realize that there will be some violence when they actually first get to mingle (it is, unfortunately, the chicken way).

Last year's batch of young ones settled in pretty well. The BO was so huge that all the adults left her be, and the two Wyandottes kind of clung to her for support. I had a little bit of a picking problem aimed at the Wyandottes but application of Vick's vapo-rub on their back feathers stopped that dead.

I will say that mixing similar numbers and sizes seem to be a good idea. Integrating a single bird will always be difficult (if not impossible). Everybody needs a friend.

Last edited: