The National Poultry Show, UK November 2010

impis

Songster
9 Years
Nov 20, 2010
Hi, All,

I've been to the National Poultry show here in the Uk, today. There were over 5,000 exhibits of birds in almost every shape and size and colour imaginable. I've never seen chooks as large or as tiny as some of those seen today. Some were very skinny, some very broad. Some with short feathers, some with long. Some neat, some fluffy. Bliss!

I took lots of photographs, which you can see online if you want - but please bear in mind that i'm a mere novice and although I did look at the breed names at the time, I'm unlikely to remember most of them. Apologies for the poor quality - they're just taken on a 2G iphone. However, I think you'll get a feel for what was there.

You can view the album of 135 pics here:
http://s148.photobucket.com/albums/s37/impis_album/National Poultry show UK 2010/ [copy and paste the address]

My favourite bird was this one:

IMG_0629.jpg

Upping this to take account of the time difference. [I hope i'm allowed]

Here's a couple more that I loved - but I have no idea what they were at all. The problem is that none of the individual cages were labelled with the names of the breed - just numbered - and you had to pay quite alot for a programe which told you what the numbers meant. There were generic name posters at the ends of the aisles, but since the types of birds in each aisle quite often changed partway down, they weren't too helpful either. Anyway, here they are. I've never seen anything like these before - and all I can tell you is that they were on the 'Rare breeds' aisle.

first - the cockerel:

IMG_0580.jpg

IMG_0579.jpg

And the hen:

IMG_0576.jpg

Pretty, arent' they?! - and full size, not bantams.

I'm a bit sorry that you can't tell the size of the birds on these pics. I had no idea that Orps were so huge and puffed out!!!! I also had no idea that Indian game birds came in little[bantam] and 'bloomin huge!'.