The Poop

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by danamillette, Sep 25, 2008.

1. danamillette

danamillette Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2008
    Northern Wisconsin
    Morning! This sounds strange, but I am new to being a chicken mommy! I love it and am probably over analyzing things [​IMG] My question is, what is the poop supposed to be like? This stems from my worries that they are eating/drinking enough. I suppose if there is poo, that they are getting enough to eat, but when I first got them, it seemed a bit runnier, and now seems dry. I have a trough feeder hanging in the coop at an acceptable height, but have yet to actually see them eat out of it. I also have the waterer in the coop as well. They were free ranging when I got them and are now in a run. I have tossed cupfuls of feed into the run and they gobble it up. Maybe they think it's a treat? I dont know, but they seem pretty ravenous when I do this. I also havent had any eggs in a few days. Any opinions?

2. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    There are a couple different types of chicken poo:

1. normal/typical - it's firm, brown with white urea (bird "pee") on it, and looks like it was excreted through a round nozzle

2. cecal - stinky, stinky, stinky! This is runny and you will know it when you see it. OMG it stinks. It comes from a loop in their intestines. Did I mention it smells bad? It's normal, too. Happens roughly every 5-6 poops.

3. bright green - indicates bird is not eating enough and dropping is green due to bile not being sufficiently diluted by excrement

4. diarhea - different from cecal because of frequency

5. bloody - indicates serious problem, potentially cocci

6. watery - indication of too many treats with high moisture content. My girls get this when they eat too many grapes.

1 person likes this.
  3. JennsPeeps

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound