Thinking of Free Ranging Chickens - Hawk , Flight & Automatic Door Question

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Derby18, Mar 18, 2013.

1. Derby18

Derby18 New Egg

Feb 25, 2013
    I am new to chickens and I'm debating free ranging. I was talking with a local chicken guy who said my birds will be too big for hawks when they are mature (BCMs should mature about 7lbs).

He also said they wouldn't be inclined to fly over my 6 foot fence into the neighbors yard (not the end of the world if they go over on occasion), he said my yard is much more interesting to the chickens than the mowed yard next door (they have about 1/4 acre fenced). I could clip wings I suppose if it got to be a problem.

If I do free range in the winter I will need an door on the coop that will shut automatically because I get home after dark and want them in a coop after dark away from night time predators. Any suggestions.

I am willing to accept "some risk" with free ranging but don't want my birds wiped out. Thank you so much!!

Susan

2. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

If there is plenty to keep them interested in your yard then I highly doubt they'll make the effort to get over a 6' fence. Mine stay in my 3/4 acre pasture behind a 48" fence with no trouble.

As far as the dangers of free ranging....if you have a large flock it's easier to deal with the occasional loss when it happens. Although when coyotes or foxes discover a flock they tend to return until the food source is depleted. A small free ranging flock can easily be wiped out by roaming dogs in minutes. Especially if they are free ranging when you are not home. That is the very reason I cannot free range at all, I would be chickenless in no time. I let mine semi-free range in a securely fenced pasture complete with hot wire and this satisfies their desire to forage.