Too cold to move chicks out?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by djh1982, Mar 8, 2015.

1. djh1982

djh1982 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2015
    Easley S.C.
    HI... I'm new to BYC. I joined because it seemed like every time I googled a question about my chicks/chickens BYC was where I ended up with the answer to my question..

Anyway. I have 10 chicks in the brooder in a room off my bedroom.... 6 week old BO and BR. Needless to say, they are about to drive me crazy at night while trying to sleep. Right now I have them in a brooder I built that is 3'x5' and 2' tall. I want to take them outside and keep them in that brooder along with the light and cover the brooder with a tarp until they are old enough to be added with my flock of 5 adult GC. Does this seem like it would be okay for them? I live in SC and the weather has been kind of crazy this year. I was thinking that if I planned to keep them in that brooder until the age to join the big girls I would have to add on to the size of the brooder. How old do they need to be before adding them in the flock? I've heard 16 to 21 weeks.. The sooner I can add them to the flock the better. What's everyone's thoughts on this? Thanks.

2. ChickyChickens

ChickyChickens Chickening Around

May 24, 2014
    BYC? Epic <3
    My Coop
    [​IMG]Welocme to BYC!!! It is an aweosme forum (the BEST in the world) and has a great comminity!!! Hope you have a great time and learn A LOT!

3. djh1982

Mar 7, 2015
    Easley S.C.
    Thank you!! I've learned a lot already... Can't get enough of it.

4. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

At 6 weeks old they should be fully feathered or nearly so. Six weeks is the time I turn off the heat lamp and let them go without heat unless I am raising them in wintertime (I give them longer if it is truly cold like in the 10's and 30's).