Total Newbie to Chickens

KatieKitt

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 16, 2013
Hi! My name is Kate and I am a total newbie to the world of chickens. I've long since ooh and ahh'd over the baby chicks at TSC and now that I live in the country with a big yard and no appreciable neighbors, I decided to take the plunge. I got 6 straight run bantam chicks. I think 5 are either cochin or brahma, as they have feathered legs. Two of these are frizzled. The sixth chick has clean legs and has me completely stumped as to what it could be. It's this lovely shade of light lavender purple. Not grey. And it's wings are coming in the same shade. What breed could this little guy be?

I am brooding these guys in the living room for now and am coop shopping. What are your recommendations for a store bought coop? I'd like something easy to clean and easy to retrieve eggs from. Some of the home built coops on this site are beautiful but well beyond my handywoman capabilities.

I'm enjoying learning all about chickens and really thankful a resource like this website exists!

Welcome! Congrats on your new chicks! You could also have d'uccles, as they have feathered feet. I wonder what your clean legged bird is...maybe a blue oegb?? We built all of our coops, so I don't know about prefab coops - other than the amish type ones, but those are really pricy. Enjoy your babies!

Welcome! We are building our own right now so not sure the quality of premade coops. I know someone that got a coop from Chicken Saloon and she seems pleased. They don't seem that expensive but are on the small side so depending what you are looking for, this might be a good idea.

http://chickensaloon.com/

Have you checked out Craigslist for your area? I have noticed quite a few good looking coops for sale that seemed pretty reasonable in price.

welcome-byc.gif

Last edited: