Total Noob Chicken Parent - How concerned for "lethargy" should I be in baby chicks? - Possible Impa

HoopyFrood

Songster
8 Years
Mar 21, 2016
Maine, USA
My Coop
My Coop
Hello! We are first time chicken parents and brand new at the job, though we studied everything we could before we jumped in :)

We got six chicks (of three different heritage breeds) directly from a reputable hatchery, immunized for MD after hatching (per our extension office recommendations) and delivered to us in just a few hours.

They have plenty of fresh food and water at all times and we closely monitor the brooder temperature to make sure they are happy. We also watch them constantly - not because we're unusually diligent, but because we live in a very small house and the only place we could keep the incubator is in our living room! And they are so unbelievably cute and entertaining... we can't help but spend every spare moment (and some not spare ones, admittedly) admiring them. Every noise and movement teaches us something about them in particular and chicks/chickens in general.

We have not used medicated feed, but opted to expose them to dirt from the future run from the moment they got home. They have a little playpen filled with dirt (replaced every day or every other day) inside the brooder and they have reveled in it more each day that goes by. They started scratching in it on the second day and just yesterday (fourth day) started dust bathing. Adorable!

The two australorp chicks are more reserved then the other breeds (barred plymouth rocks and Rhode Island Reds). But today (fifth day) one of the Australorps is a little more subdued than usual. It COULD be called "lethargic." But we joked since the first morning that she needed a little coffee mug; she's just not a fireball.