Tractor Design

NorTracNY

Songster
11 Years
Mar 1, 2008
Macedon, NY
Hi, I'm still learning here. I'm designing a tractor for 4-5 chickens. I'm looking at 13.5'X4.5'. The coop with be raised 18" at one end and be 4.5' X 3.5'. I am looking at having the coop be 2.5' high with a slanted roof of about 8" higher in the front. I'd put in a roost in the coop at about 1-1.5'. Is this height fine?
The chickens will primarily be in the tractor, but periodically free range when we are outside for a while. (A lot during the summer.) This leads me to another question... I am confident the two dogs I have will be fine, but how big of a problem can cats be for chickens? I hear so much about dogs, but my cats take out rabbits as big as themselves.

Mark

I was sooooo confident that my dogs were okay around our chickens. My chickens are free range on 7 acres, all last summer myself, the dogs and the chickens were out everyday together. The dogs never bothered the chickens in the year that we've had them, except to follow them around to eat their poop. Yuk!!! So yesterday I went outside to check on the animals which I do every single day, probably 20 times a day. And as I turned around the corner of the fence, there was our black dog laying on her back with her paws in the air begging for mercy because she has just killed our littlest hen. I didn't even have to yell at her, she knew she was wrong before I found her. So now I'm left with the dilema of who to keep locked up and when. At least I could understand killing the hen to eat her but she didn't even do that. All she was doing was licking her. Not even any blood to lick. I should have known better, who doesn't like chicken. As far as cats, I have had one of our cats try to go after my babies but never our full grown hens. Some of my hens actually chase my cats away. It's pretty funny to see a cat run from a bird.

Quote: