Training ducks to get out of the pond and pen up at night

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Clueless, Aug 10, 2010.

1. Clueless

Clueless New Egg

Aug 10, 2010
    Hello all. I have been reading the forum for a while now but have never posted. I am new to ducks, but in short, I have five ducks. Two pekins and three rouens. One drake in each. They are now about 9 months old and live in a hardware cloth pen, which is 8' by 10' and 6' tall, and it gets moves around every few weeks. They have a baby pool and a dog house inside the pen.

I have plenty of land, and there is a one-acre pond down the hill, and I would like to free range them during the day. However, it would take all of about a day for the local vermin to figure out they were around if I leave them out over night. As a result, they need to be penned up at night. They are totally skittish, save one of my rouen girls, who is just a sweetie. We have been feeding them at the same time each day and ringing a bell. We plan to ring the bell to alert them that it is feeding time in the pen, but any other suggestions for getting them to pen up at night?

2. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens