Transitioning to coop from brooder...what am I doing wrong???

kestrel42

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 7, 2011
Portland, Oregon
Ok, I'm a newbie chicken owner, so maybe this is all normal, but I'm starting to get a little worried. I FINALLY got enough of the coop built last weekend to get the babies out of the tight brooder and into the coop. Of course, they were very frightened for the first couple of days but have settled in and seem comfortable now. I rigged the brooder lamp into the coop for the first several nights, just in case, but left it off last night and they seem fine without it now. Here are my concerns: they still haven't started to use the roosts in the coop-at all. They won't come out of the coop when I open the pop door, and if one falls out a little way they panic and scramble back up the ramp. I've tried moving some of the braver hens part way down the ramp, so they can see how the rungs work and practice, but they still won't come out and it's been days. I put interesting things on the ramp, and they want to peck them, they just don't want to move down the ramp! I've tried food, treats, slugs, weeds etc-no go. Maybe they need more time to figure things out?