Trying to go South????????????????

laughaha

Songster
9 Years
May 5, 2010
OK, this is getting really annoying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm pretty sure my geese are trying to go south for the winter. A bit early but multiple times a day they are walking due south off the property. They are trying to fly in the yard but can't get over 1-2 feet in the air. They are penned up (which they hate) but everytime I let them out they head south. You can set a compass by it. How long will I have to keep them penned up?

I've read that Toulouse can't fly but these are mainly ones just shy of a year old (estimate) so they are not really heavy yet (at least not as big as Archie). I'm gonna be trimming their flight feathers just to make sure they can't fly but has ANYONE ever had a toulouse fly south for the winter? Any other domestic geese try to fly south? I think mine are purebred but I'm a newbie and I just got them a few months ago.

Only goose I have heard of that needs the flight feathers trimmed were Canadians. They might get a little off the ground but I don't think they can fly like their cousins.