turkey nesting box

Hawkeye95

Songster
8 Years
Jun 18, 2011
Oklahoma City area
My Coop
My Coop
I'm building my coop right now. I have one female turkey baby (about 17 wks) and I'm preparing to get 10 pullet chicks later when the coop is done. I know chickens don't need large boxes. But I'm hoping to accomodate both turkey and chickens. I have already decided the height to be 18 inches- but how how wide would you go? I'm a turkey newbie! Do turkeys even USE nesting boxes??
hu.gif
Will she lay eggs year round like a chicken? What is the smallest a turkey could fit into? She is a Royal Palm, and pretty small.

My turkey use the nesting boxes as well as lay on the floor in the chicken house. Depending on your area, your hens may only lay at certain times of the year.

18X18 is a good size for turkeys. Only need to be about 8-10" deep depending on how much bedding you use. Some use them and some don't and they are seasonal layers. Be carefull of running turkeys and chicken togather due to blackhead. Most will do it with no problems but if its a problem were you are or the chicks come from a blackhead area, you could kill your turkeys.

Is it ok to mix turkeys and ducks? I plan on raising both after we get the barn set up. Instead of horses in the barn, the stall will be the area for the turkeys or ducks. They wont be sharing a stall, but they'll be in the field together and housed relatively close to each other. I have no desire (rather, my husband has no desire) to raise chickens, but we love ducks and want turkeys also. Would turkeys cathc anything from the ducks?

Welcome to BYC, Kristirose!
welcome-byc.gif

Blackhead disease seems to be the main cross-species concern with turkeys, and I've only heard of chickens being carriers. We run turkeys and ducks together here, with no significant issues.

You DO know ducks are messy, right?
roll.png

Bryan