Two hens are afraid of or disinterested in new rooster.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by joebryant, Oct 23, 2009.

1. joebryant

joebryant Overrun With Chickens

About a week ago I moved two 18-month-old hens from their coop to one of the barn coops that Anne and I made for breeding purposes. I put them with a young rooster that they are either very afraid of or have no interest in. He forcibly breeds them. They both cower in a corner and won't come out of it. How long might this last? Is it possible that they will never accept the new situation? They hadn't been with a rooster for about two months. Also, they've stopped laying.

2. lauralou

lauralou Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2007
    Central Virginia
    I'm no expert on rooster relations. Not by a long shot. I usually sell or eat them at the first sign of the hormone surge. But... Might it be helpful if you could separate the hens and the roo for a while with chicken wire or something? So they could see each other and get to know each other a little better before the molestation begins?

Just an idea.

3. Granolamom

Granolamom Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 9, 2008
    Dallas
    Quote:I'm no "relationship expert", either, but separating them with wire, while they get to know each other, is what I do when I integrate new hens into the flock, and it works great (I usually give them at least a week). Don't see why it wouldn't work with hens and rooster.

4. DawnSuiter

DawnSuiter Chillin' With My Peeps

They will either get used to him or not. I wouldn't seperate them again by wire or anything... I've done this dozens of times this last year.
    Most times they learn to get along and trust him eventually. It has taken as long as 8 weeks before though.. Recently I gave up on one combination... the girls just WOULDN'T take to the new guy... they kept escaping their pen for 5 weeks and running back to their "man". [​IMG]