Uh Oh...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Amatsukaze, Dec 5, 2010.

1. Amatsukaze

Amatsukaze Out Of The Brooder

Jul 5, 2010
    Northern KY
    Greetings folks!

I have been ghosting this site for a couple of months with the intention of getting some chicks in the spring.

I drew up my plans for a coup & made a material list. I intend to start building it the 1st week of March & have it done that very same week (I am a former carpenter with all the tools so the building phase will be a snap).

In my zeal to get everything started I went & ordered 25 Plymouth Rock chicks from eFowl.com thinking I would get the 1st hatch in the spring. You wouldn’t believe my surprise when a couple of days later I get an email from them telling me my chicks will arrive on 12/21 or 12/22!
    After the initial panic wore off I started thinking my way through it & think I will be OK. I already have everything I need for the brooder except the food & water dishes which I will buy in the coming days.

The chicks will be kept inside for the 1st several weeks & that is where my plan ends & my question’s start.
    Subsequent to getting the email I discovered a negative posting about eFowl on this site that got me worrying. Chicks arriving in the dead of winter need to ship fast & I am worried about the bad rep of eFowl. I try to console myself knowing that someone that has been wronged hollers loud & long while folks that have a good experience usually just don’t say anything. Since this will be my very 1st time with chickens I am worried about getting sick chicks & wonder if their reputation in conjunction with the time of year is sufficient motive to cancel the order.