UPDATE - Hen with frozen toes - HELP

AmeraucanaMama

Hatching
10 Years
Jan 10, 2010
Hi, I'm relatively new to chicken ownership (2 years) so every once and awhile I run into a strange situation with my flock. It was cold last night here in Ohio, 0 degrees at midnight. This morning I noticed one of my hens, Half Pint, was shuffling her feet to get to the food pellets. I picked her up and noticed both her feet were completely frozen. I have no idea how this happened since they have a large heating lamp, multiple perches and a dry, ventilated coop. None of my other 7 hens or my roo seemed to be having any problems. She is the smallest hen in the flock and is almost always sitting under the heat lamp on a cold day. The only mixed breed that I have, I believe she is a silkie/ameraucana mix. An odd looking hen with beautiful ameracauna coloring but with five feathered toes like a silkie. (I don't know a whole lot about her origin, I got her free from a woman I bought 3 Ameracauna hens from this fall. She was going to take her to the butcher if I didn't take her. She's so cute I couldn't resist) Anyway not really important. Here is my problem, I brought her in the house and caged her in my basement and managed to slowly thaw out her toes. They are now warm and she can grasp my hand when I pick her up. She is eating and seems very content. This afternoon when I went down to check on her she was standing however holding her left foot up off the cage bottom. She will put it down however not for very long. It does have a purplish tint to the color and seems a bit swollen. I soaked both her feet in warm water to remove any debris and I really don't see anything wrong with the foot. Does anyone have any suggestions, could this be from her feet being frozen? I've never experienced frozen toes before. At this point I'm not sure what I can do for her. She will be staying in the basement for a few more days while I try and figue out what is wrong with her. I'd really like to help h