**UPDATE**Why she won't sit on her eggs?

markb816

Songster
9 Years
Apr 18, 2010
Middle Tennessee
Hot off the press.
Just today I noticed broken turkey egg shells under my bronze turkey.
She has been sitting on the eggs for the last 3 weeks, resolving my issue about I posted earlier (see below).
I have noticed 3 little chicks. They are so little and cute and I think they were just born today.
My bronze turkey has taken a corner of the chicken coop for her new family.
Bear in mind that this is the chicken coop, where 8 chickens and two guineas, roost and lay eggs.
Is this going to be an issue?
I don't want there to be a power struggle or baby turkey chicks getting hurt.
I have a pen seperate that I could let the bronze turkey use and care for her chicks, but how would I transport them to the pen?
The bronze turkey hisses and makes a gurgling noise when I even look in the coop at them.
I don't want to stress her or the baby turkey chick.
This is my first time dealing with chicks, period. I always get my birds after they are fully feathere poults.
How will the chicks no how to get to the water bowl? I don't want them to dehydrate because they can't find it. I got the water bowl as close to the turkey family as possible without momma hissing at me or giving me a look like if I get one inch closer she will jump up and peck my pupil out!!
Please someone give me some basic straight tips on what I need to do at this point.
I don't want to loose any turkey chicks because of my own negligance or ignorance.
Thanks everyone ahead of time on helping me with this brand new chapter in the world of "As the Birds Turn".

thank you

Background: I have 10 chicken hens, 3 female guine fowl, and 2 bronze turkeys(1male, 1female)