Upper respiratory infection??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by MamaCta, Dec 22, 2016.

1. MamaCta

MamaCta Just Hatched

Dec 22, 2016
    Hi I am new to byc but have been reading all your threads for over a year. Now I'm in need of some advice.
    I have 15 pure bread Coucou de Malines that are not doing well. Bloody nasal discharge 2 are showing some neurological signs. I and treating them all with penpro and most seem to be getting better. But is this something that will come back? Or if I raise hatchlings for meat will they get sick? Virus vs Bacteria? Help any advice would be appreciated thanx

2. MasterOfClucker

MasterOfClucker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2016
    Iowa
    Welcome to BYC.It appears they have a respiratory infection.I would give them Tylan 50.Some respiratory infections comes back during stress.What do you mean when saying Neurological signs.

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Bloody mucus from the beak and nostrils can be from a virus called ILT (trach, infectious laryngotracheitis.) I would urge you to get them tested and separate them from the rest. ILT is contagious and can be chronic, and leave the flock as carriers. There is no treatment, but some use Tylan 50 to prevent secondary infections. Contact your state dept. of agriculture to find testing.

1 person likes this.
  4. MamaCta

MamaCta Just Hatched

Dec 22, 2016
    So my one too has his head curled under his cheats and shakes off and on. Walks like a drunk. But I have seen him drink when he snaps out of it. I'm culing him today of no change

5. MasterOfClucker

Jul 19, 2016
    Iowa
    He has Wry neck a vitamin deficiency.

6. MamaCta

MamaCta Just Hatched

Dec 22, 2016