USDA egg washing protocols in English prefer organic methods

Lopi1234

In the Brooder
7 Years
Nov 8, 2012
Well, after reading and searching all day, I am as clear as mud on this topic. I am a very small producer. I would love to know what I am required to do according to organic methods for preparing eggs for selling at a local market. My head hurts. I am no further at days end as when I started this search at 10 am. Thank you in advance....and I hope this is in the right place to post this....

What state are you in? Most states have their own organic programs also. With the USDA websites mostly shut down you may never find out what they want.

I live in New Jersey. I have been on the site for New Jersey, but am more confused since reading it. I am well under 3,000 birds. I am definitely a very small producer. I am just frustrated and my head hurts from reading myself in circles.

Last edited:
http://www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/pdf/eggproductionguidance.pdf Think we found it.

"If materials are used to wash or handle organic eggs, all of the material’s ingredients must be provided for in the National List, §205.605. This precludes many typesof commercial soaps and detergents. If using materials to
wash or handle eggs, ensure you have thoroughly vetted the allowance of these materials in order to maintain
organic integrity. "

And The List of allowed chemicals......................
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2012-title7-vol3/pdf/CFR-2012-title7-vol3-sec205-605.pdf