Ventilation: Air Changes per Hour?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by MomMommyMamma, Jul 19, 2010.

1. MomMommyMamma

MomMommyMamma Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    West Virginia
    Nerd Alert:
    My husband, an engineer, would like to know how many air changes per hour there should be in a coop. Our coop is about 7x8x10. Thanks! [​IMG]

2. booker81

booker81 Redneck Tech Girl

Apr 18, 2010
    Mid-MI
    Um, wow. LOL! Not laughing at your hubs, but that is TOTALLY something I would even think of....but that may be why I'm not an engineer!!!

[​IMG]

I wonder if he could calculate it from patanchickens page on Ventilation based on the size of the holes etc.

My coop is in a 20x10 shed building, taking up 10x10 give or take. Ceiling is about 8'+. The shed door (full sheet of plywood, so 4x8 is left open, and we usually have a good 5mph breeze. The back ventilation is one 1x1' grat and three openings that are about 8'x18" total. Can he figure it from that? I can say it seems to be enough for my 17 chooks - I deep litter, there is virtually no smell and everyone likes being in there when it's hot. I also add a standing fan to help the breeze.

Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  3. clothdiaperingmom

clothdiaperingmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2010
    Sweetwater, TX
    I have absolutely NO IDEA! lol...would have never thought of that!
    Maybe someone smarter then I will know??

4. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    The only situations for which well-defined criteria exist is for giant commercial chicken barns (meat chickens, and layer batteries). For those, for ammonia and humidity removal purposes you need 4 changes per hour; for cooling in the summer it can be up to 40+ changes per hour.

I do not believe this has much of any relevance for the home coop, though, unless you are keeping your chickens in really industrial-type conditions (very crowded and horrible).