Want to introduce new birds

newegglover

Hatching
5 Years
Sep 25, 2014
Hello-

I'm new to the chicken scene and adopted two Barred Rocks from someone who had to get rid of them. After having them for a few months and figuring out the ins and outs of chickens, we want to get two more birds. I'm a bit nervous though, we haven't ever introduced our two girls to any new chicks, and i've read that barred rocks can be bullies. Does anyone suggest any good egg-layers that would mix well with the two we already have?

Any advice appreciated!

Thanks!

It's not about breeds, its about territory. Bringing any new birds into an established flock is a challenge to their territory and they will not be pleased....sometimes it is not pretty, especially if you are not well versed in the apparent viciousness that chickens can exhibit.

First make sure you have plenty of room to house the number of chickens you desire to keep, space is very important, especially during the integration of new birds.

They will need to be kept physically apart but within sight for a several weeks or until they are of similar size.

Here's some notes I've taken on integration that I found to be very helpful.
See if any of them, or the links provided, might offer some tips that will assist you in your situation:

Integration of new chickens to flock.

Consider medical quarantine.

Confine new birds within sight but physically segregated from older/existing birds for several weeks, so they can see and get used to each other but not physically interact. Integrating new birds of equal size works best.

The more space, the better. Birds will peck to establish dominance, the pecked bird needs space to get away. As long as there's no blood drawn and/or new bird is not trapped/pinned down, let them work it out. Every time you interfere or remove new birds, they'll have to start the pecking order thing all over again.