what am I seeing??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by koakritters, Feb 26, 2011.

1. koakritters

koakritters Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma
    ok today's day 7! This is my first time candling, and i've looked at all the pics on here of seeing the veins and stuff, but idk if i just don't have a bright enough light or?? but all i can see in some is nothing, then others about half the egg has a big black thing that moves side to side and takes up like half the egg. and a couple have a smaller black dot inside that. I'm trying to get pics posted, but I haven't seen anything like that on the pics for a day 7 egg... any help please?

2. koakritters

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma
    sorry for the bad photo, but i couldn't get one to look right without the flash going off. ignore my pepsi box looking tool to block the rest of the light around it lol! some looks like this, some are smaller things floating around, but i can't see any veins like in pics i've seen on here before

[​IMG]

3. Iheartchicks<3:)

Iheartchicks<3:) Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2010
    Mount Vernon, WA
    im thinking there is a chick in there... Get it to a broody fast!

4. koakritters

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma
    at 7 days? everything i've looked at/read said you'd see veins, and i don't... here's another view of the same egg.
    [​IMG]

5. piccolini

piccolini Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2009
    Camino, CA
    Hmmm... Day 7 for me was yesterday and I can deffinately see veining. I can see a small black blob but it is smaller than the nail on my pinkie... I am not sure what you are seeing though there could still be something in there

6. koakritters

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma
    i think i need to find an even brighter light... going to go search through the cabinets and see what i find.

7. koakritters

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma