What breed?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Sammers, Mar 25, 2007.

1. Sammers

Sammers New Egg

Mar 25, 2007
    HI all! I am very new to raising chickens....actually, I'm raising them by accident, but I have no idea what breed this is and need your help. I live in Pensacola, Florida, and we have had farrell chickens that roam our neighborhood for the last 5 years or so. They bother no one, and everyone saves their 'scraps' breads and stuff like that to feed them. Anyway, we love having them around but on Friday afternoon we saw a hen get run over by a car, and she had seven chicks that all still had egg tooths. (teeth) and I couldn't just let them die, so I'm raising the remaining six. I need help identifying their breed though, so any information you could give me will be very helpful.

Thank you.

Video of the rooster for these chicks...
    [​IMG]

Here's one of the chicks
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. mlheran

mlheran Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm in no position to say with any certainty what kind of chick that is (though it looks like my Americauna chicks), but I have to say that rooster is GORGEOUS!! [​IMG]
    And thank you so much for posting that video -having never had roosters around I've never seen the feeding behavior people have described. It's really neat to see! [​IMG]

3. thechickenfarmer

thechickenfarmer Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Connecticut
    Hi,
    Those chicks are really cute! We were just talking about the "key west" wild chickens in another post. I don't know much about them but if you google image them there is a picture of your rooster. I don't know enough about them to know if they are a breed or just mixed. Take a look. [​IMG] Jen

http://z.about.com/d/honeymoons/1/0/I/X/10eSBrooster3.jpg

4. fowlweatherfriends

fowlweatherfriends Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2007
    The Sunny South