What does a constipated duck look like?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jazzyfizzle, Oct 24, 2009.

1. jazzyfizzle

jazzyfizzle Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2009
    Northern Ohio
    Hello, I was wondering if anyone would want to give us advice. Our new call was having an issue - it is difficult to explain, but a few days ago she started pointing her rump/tail toward the ground.
    Today it seems have went back upward somewhat and I noticed a couple feces in something of a soft pellet form? Could she be constipated?
    I am feeding the only feed available in our town- Manna Pro for gamebirds, it says 24%. Is this too much protein?
    I posted in the illness section, but not getting any responses. [​IMG]

Thank you

2. Bleenie

Bleenie Wyan-DO's

I feed my ducks feed that's about 16% protien.

24% does sound a little high but im no expert.

I've only had 1 duck thats ever been 'backed up'. it was due to feed problems. she got Very lethargic & quit eating & drinking on the second day... she only lasted a few days, but she was also a baby (about 2 weeks old).

i hope someone else jumps on here for some better help. good luck with your girl.

3. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    I feed game bird feed. No constipation issues though.

4. cheekychick

cheekychick Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 17, 2008
    Waioneke NZ
    I am definately no expert, but would fresh greens help a constipated duck like it can help us humans? I always try to give my ducks fresh greens every day even though they have 500acres of grass to munch on [​IMG]

5. jazzyfizzle

Oct 12, 2009
    Northern Ohio
    Thank you so much for the advice. Any certain greens I should feed her? I am so relieved that it looks better, hopefuly the consitpation is improving. She is eating and drinking well from what I see.

thanks!!

6. xke4

xke4 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2007