what else to feed?

JodyJo

Songster
9 Years
Sep 27, 2010
Colorado
I have 16 8-10 week old chicks, they have been on starter the entire time, with evening treats of various items, apples, grapes, rice, pasta, lettuce etc...is giving them scratch and sunflower seeds ok at this age? I think it is, but can' t remember what I did with my roos I had last year, sold them all, they were supposed to have been pullets! So started fresh here a few weeks ago with new chicks. Any suggestions? I also found a great recipe in Backyard Poultry mag for making a "seed bell" for you chickens using scratch grain and unflavored gelatin, I think I will make a few to hang in the coop or run.

I'm new to chickens myself, but I believe that scratch is fine to give youngsters. As long as you are giving some sort of grit. I bought parakeet gravel at the local pet store, and it's small enough for my 3 week olds. I've been debating giving scratch, myself.

Also, I've given my girls plain yogurt which they LOVE! And meal worms. I've ordered 1000 to start farming. If you're not to queesy about that, look into it. It gets expensive buying a dozen here and there. Also, I'm going to try hanging a head of broccoli from a string so they can have fun with it.

Would you mind sharing the seed bell recipe? I'd love to try it with my girls!

Thanks!

Quote:
sure, the recipe is as follows:

1 pkg unflavored gelatin
2-3 cups scratch grain
1/2 c hot water

plastic containers

1. dissolve gelatin in hot water, add to scratch grain, in plastic container, let set....that's all. You can add more or less gelatin depending on how hard the scratch sets...pop it out the container and you can also place a string through it to hang, like a wild bird food seed bell.

I haven't tried it yet, just got it in a magazine. Sounds easy enough.