1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

what is a good starter bantam show chicken?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by 2seth2, Nov 6, 2011.

1. 2seth2

2seth2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 6, 2011
    Reno,NV
    I am new in chicken showing and was wonder what some good bantum show breeds are. I can have six bantums and now crowing fowl. The breeds I have looked at are bramhas, silkies, and polish(all bantum). Also what is easier to have 6 chickens or 6 call ducks. Thank you for helping!

2. sjarvis00

sjarvis00 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Shawnee, OKlahoma
    Quote:The chcikens are probably easier to keep, the ducks tend to bit a messy. However in show prep the ducks are probably the easier ones.

If you are looking for short term success in showing I would sugest the Brahma, there is some very stiff competition in sikies, few real good quality polish. Brahma are often easily found in good quality without spending a small fortune.
    Good call ducks will be much more expensive to start with as good show birds will cost more than good showable Brahma.

Just my thoughts and experiences from this area of teh country.

3. 2seth2

Nov 6, 2011
    Reno,NV
    would a belgian bearded D'uccle be a better option because they are uncommen in my area? (2 others)

4. sjarvis00

sjarvis00 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Shawnee, OKlahoma
    Quote:A good D'uccle, or D'anver either way. I would lean more toward D'anver (less trouble with leg and foot feathering to keep in condition)

5. BorderKelpie

BorderKelpie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2009
    outside Dallas