What is my little hen doing?

christinea

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 17, 2013
Massachusetts
I'm new to chickens - 5 weeks in! One of my girls, Henrietta, an EE has been acting funny the past few evenings. She's been pushing herself under another hen. She looks like she's trying to dive under! She won't stop until she is completely underneath the 2nd hen, Zebra, who seems nonplussed by the pushiness. Zebra, a Barred Rock, is accommodating and will actually sit on Henrietta. Only after she is sitting on her will Henrietta relax. Sometimes it looks like she just wants to hide her head under Zebra. All of this is preceeded by Henrietta chirping nonstop. It's a special chirping she ONLY makes when she's about to start the diving. She seems FRANTIC and scrambles to get underneath. Once she's under, all 4 settle into a sleeping pile! Henrietta is eating, drinking and pooping just fine. Otherwise happy & healthy girl. Has anyone ever seen this? It looks almost instinctual, like she's compelled to do this. Any and all thoughts appreciated!!!

Last edited:
Yep...that's what the little chicks do with a broody hen. They dive under momma...chirping madly until they are tucked underneath her...then they settle into peaceful sleep.

I am surprised she is still doing it at 5 weeks after being artificially heat lamped ans so on, but she's still in chickhood...I would guess that Zerba being a barred rock is bigger and with an accommodating nature, makes for a nice momma substitute.

Also, is the brooder still warm enough? Your little EE may be more sensitive to cold and drafts.

Lady of McCamley

Yeah. My hens would do it when they got freaked out. Its a natural instinct. And since babies sleep under their mums the big chicken pile is natural too. Just be careful that she doesn't suffocate if shes at the bottom of the pile. As she gets older and more confident she'll stop.