What is the best incubator?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by lkistamas, Jun 25, 2018.

1. lkistamas

lkistamas In the Brooder

Jun 24, 2018
    Terrace, BC, Canada
    What is the best incubator?
    I am thinking about buying a GQF Hovabator Genesis incubator with automatic egg turner to hatch duck and chicken eggs? Will this unit be able to keep up the humidity 75-80 % during lock down?
    I am new at this and during my last hatch the little giant incubator could not keep up with the humidity even with a full water in reservoir and wet sponges in there.

Any help greatly appreciated!

The Phantom likes this.

2. You'll get all kinds of answers on this, probably. Personally, I prefer the dorm fridge bator I built 2 years ago - it works perfectly for me, since I can set it up for anything I want - I can have 2 full turners of quail rails and a full turner of anything from chicken to goose eggs, all at the same time. Its water reservoir is a bottom half of a 14 lb cat litter jug, and I use a cotton rag that drapes down into the water, wicking up the moisture. If the humidity is too high, I fold it so a smaller surface is evaporating, and if it's too low, I open the rag up and it wicks & evaporates more.

Ridgerunner likes this.
  3. lkistamas

lkistamas In the Brooder

Jun 24, 2018
    Terrace, BC, Canada
    Thank you for your input!
    So my next question is about opening the incubator doors during lock down. If you open the door to adjust the cloth, your eggs wont "shrink wrap"? I was so worried about opening the lid during the lock down and killing the embryos. Thank you!